Scott County to receive Three-Star, library grants

Scott County has received Three-Star Community grant funding for yet another year.

State Senator Ken Yager, R-Kingston, made that announcement Friday morning, saying that six counties in his district, the 12th Senatorial District, had received a total of $225,000 in grant funding through the state’s Three-Star Communities program. Other counties receiving grants including Fentress, Morgan, Pickett, Rhea and Roane counties.

According to Stacey Swann, executive director of the Industrial Development Board of Scott County, the local portion of the grant dollars will be used for an inmate work program at the Scott County Justice Center that is being spearheaded by S.T.A.N.D.

The Three-Star program focuses on best practices in five different areas — jobs and economic development, fiscal strength and efficient government, public safety, health, education and workforce development.

“I want to recognize our local officials for their incredible work securing this important funding to help our communities,” Yager said. “It was an honor to support their successful effort. I also appreciate ECD for their investment in our district which is well deserved.”

Meanwhile, Huntsville Public Library was one of 15 libraries in the 12th District to receive a technology grant. The 15 grant awards totaled $13,549. The technology grants are used to replace or purchase technology, including computers, software, networking hardware and peripherals.

“In today’s technology-dependent world, digital literacy is extremely important in order to conduct business, apply for jobs, pay bills and complete school work,” Yager said. “These funds will increase opportunities for citizens to expand and strengthen their technology skills. I am pleased so many libraries in my district will receive these grants. Congratulations to the recipients for securing these funds.”

Other libraries receiving funding included libraries in Caryville, Jacksboro, Jellico, LaFollette, Coalfield, Deer Lodge, Petros, Sunbright, Wartburg, Oakdale, Kingston, Harriman, Rockwood and Fentress County.

Earlier this week, Yager held his annual grant conference, to provide local governments, community groups and nonprofits pertinent information on available  grants and best practices for preparing a competitive application.