Counties in Senate District 12 Set to Receive Numerous State Grants Says Senator Yager

State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) announced that numerous grants have been awarded to counties in Senate District 12 from the Department of Economic and Community Development (ECD) and the Tennessee Department of State Library and Archives Division.  Six counties in the district will receive ECD’s Three Star grants, while 15 libraries will receive Technology Grants from the State Library and Archives.

Counties receiving Three Star Grants include Fentress, Morgan, Pickett, Rhea, Roane, and Scott Counties for a combined district total of $255,000.  The Three Star grant focuses on best practices in five key community areas including jobs and economic development, fiscal strength and efficient government, public safety, health, education and workforce development.

“I want to recognize out local officials for their incredible work securing this important funding to help our communities,” said Senator Yager.  “It was an honor to support their successful efforts.  I also appreciate ECD for their investment in our district which is well deserved,” he added.

Fifteen libraries in Campbell, Morgan, Fentress, Roane, and Scott Counties will receive a combined district total of $13,549 in Technology grants.  Technology grants are available for public libraries to replace or purchase technology, including computers, software, networking hardware or peripherals.

Libraries receiving the Technology Grants include the Caryville, Jacksboro, Jellico, and LaFollette Public Libraries in Campbell County; Coalfield, Deer Lodge, Petros, Sunbright, Wartburg, and Oakdale Public Libraries in Morgan County; Kingston, Harriman, and Rockwood Public Libraries in Roane County; Fentress County Public Library in Fentress County; and Huntsville Public Library in Scott County.