Spring Floods Result In Disaster Declaration For Scott

Washington, D.C. (2011-03-31) The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Craig Fugate announced today that federal aid is available to the state of Tennessee to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding during the period of February 28 to March 1, 2011.  Scott County is included in the declaration. 

Through the designation, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding.  Counties designated for assistance are Franklin, Fentress, Grainger, Hamilton, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Moore, Morgan, Pickett, Scott, and Union.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.