House Dedication and Hoedown Planned For 3,000 Habitat Home

May 21, 2010

Robbins, TN (2010-05-21) On Wednesday, May 26, 2010, everyone is welcome to join the 52 Tennessee affiliates of Habitat for Humanity to celebrate the dedication of the 3,000th Habitat house built in Tennessee.  The occasion will be marked with a huge Habitat Hoedown hosted by Appalachia Habitat for Humanity. [ Read More ]

State Unemployment Rate 10.5 Percent In April

May 20, 2010

Nashville, TN (2010-05-20) Tennessee Commissioner of Labor & Workforce Development James Neeley announced today Tennessee’s unemployment rate for April was 10.5 percent, down one-tenth of a percentage point from the March rate of 10.6 percent. The April rate last year was 10.5 percent. The national unemployment rate for April 2010 was 9.9 percent, up from the March rate of 9.7 percent. [ Read More ]

Ward Resigns; Vacancies Remain Unfilled

May 20, 2010

Huntsville, TN (2010-05-20) The Oneida Police Department lost another officer Thursday night, as the department’s K-9 officer tendered his official resignation to the Mayor Jack E. Lay and the Oneida City Council. He is the third officer to quit the Oneida Police Department in the last two years, three vacancies that will remain unfilled. [ Read More ]

Annual Relay For Life Saturday In Oneida

May 19, 2010

Oneida, TN (2010-05-19) The annual Scott County Relay For Life will be held Saturday at the Oneida City Park.  An event to raise both awareness about cancer and money for cancer research, it will be held from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. [ Read More ]

Urban Growth Boundary Amendments Rejected

May 17, 2010

Huntsville, TN (2010-05-17) The Scott County Commission has formally rejected amendments to the County Urban Growth Boundary as proposed by the Towns of Huntsville and Oneida. The measure will now go back to the County Urban Growth Committee, which will attempt to hammer out the differences between the county and the towns to avoid the issue going into mediation. [ Read More ]

1 272 273 274 275 276 285