HTC Scholarship Winners Announced

Sunbright, TN (2018-05-24) Eleven area high school seniors were recently awarded scholarships by Highland Telephone Cooperative.

Keeping with its tradition of awarding $1000 scholarships to graduating seniors in its service area, Highland Telephone Cooperative recently presented eleven such awards at the company’s headquarters in Sunbright.  2018 marks the eighteenth year the local telephone cooperative has been honoring gifted grads.

Recipients in the Scott County service area included: Kayley Kidd and Dalton Crabtree, both students at Oneida High School, and Graci Sexton and Gannon Terry, both graduates of Scott High School.  The awards were presented by Directors Dorothy Watson and James E. Terry, who represented the Oneida exchanges (286/569); Jan Byrd, who represents the Huntsville exchange (663); and John Tate, who represents the Robbins (627) exchange.

Students earning scholarships in Morgan County were:  Levi Daniel, a senior at Sunbright High School; Samantha Daugherty and Ethan Helton, both graduates of Wartburg Central; and Jackson Hicks, a senior at Oakdale High School.  The graduates reside in the various exchanges in Morgan County, which are represented by David Freytag (628/965) exchange; Donald Jones (346) exchange; Mickey Bingham (369) exchange; and Max Spurling (324) exchange.

In McCreary County, the cooperative awarded three scholarships to graduates of McCreary Central High School.  Recipients were:  Kaylie Baird, Michael Coffey, and Lauren Holbrook.  Members of the HTC Board of Directors representing McCreary County include:  Sam Strunk (354) exchange, and Shelva Jo Jones and Loma Denney (376) exchange.

Every year, Highland Telephone provides eleven scholarships to the graduates in Scott, Morgan and McCreary counties, along with select areas in Anderson and Campbell counties, which are inside their service area.  Students apply for the scholarships by writing a 500-word essay on the topic, Technology for Telecommunications.  Recipients may use the money to further their education at any post-secondary institution.  The essays are judged by teachers from the participating schools, and each school is given a $500 contribution it may use at is discretion.  Each judge reviewed essays from a county other than their county of residence.

This year’s judges included the English Departments at Scott High School and Oakdale High School, along with Mr. Mike Wilson at McCreary Central High School.  Mr. Wilson generously gave the award to the school’s Spanish Club in memory of Ms. Kathalene Favella, who had been scoring essays since the inception of the program.  Sadly, Ms. Favella passed away shortly before this year’s scholarships were submitted for review.

“HTC believes this is an excellent way to promote education among our young people and hopes that even more graduating seniors will again take advantage of this easy opportunity to win a scholarship next year,” commented Mark Patterson, General Manager of Highland Telephone Cooperative.