Twenty-Four Pickup Qualifying Petitions; Four Already Returned

Huntsville, TN (2010-01-08) In just the first week of the qualifying window, twenty-four persons have picked up petitions for various offices that will be on the August General ballot.  Of those, four have already been returned.

According to Administrator of Elections Gabe Lowe, twenty-four persons picked up qualifying petitions between January 4, 2010 and January 8, 2010, the first full week of the state’s qualifying window for the August 5, 2010 General Election.

The only countywide candidate to already return his petition is Scott County Trustee Jimmy D. Byrd.  Other incumbents that have picked up petitions include:  Circuit Court Clerk, Donnie L. Phillips; County Court Clerk, Patricia (Pat) Phillips; Register of Deeds, Porter B. (Benjie) Rector, Jr.; Road Superintendent Donald R. Sexton; Sheriff Thomas (Anthony) Lay.

Incumbents for district offices that have picked up petitions include:

  • County Commissioners:  Ernest Phillips (3rd); Alan D. Reed (4th); Dennis Sexton (4th); and Rothel Cross (5th).
  • Scott County School Board:  Charles (Brian) Strunk (1st); James D. (Jim) Sexton (4th); and Richard J. Smith (6th).

Of the countywide offices, the only race with potential multiple candidates is Sheriff, with four persons picking up papers.  In addition to Sheriff Lay, former Sheriff James H. (Jim) Carson has picked up a qualifying petition, along with current County Commissioner Odeva Byrd.   Oneida businessman Jason Watson has also picked up papers for Sheriff.

The lone candidate for County Mayor, as of Friday, was James (Harold) Brooks.

At the district level, candidates that have picked up and returned petitions include:  Jennie L Green, who is seeking a County Commission seat in the 1st district, along with Linda H. Overton, who is vying for a 2nd district seat on the County Legislative Body.

Other persons picking up petitions for Commissioner were:  June Jeffers (2nd); Howard L. Phillips (3rd); Terry M. Yancey (4th); and Harrison E. Reed (5th).

Bryon C. Foster has picked up papers to qualify for the County School Board, potentially running for the 7th district seat.

Persons may continue to pick up qualifying petitions for the August General Election until April 1, 2010.  The Scott County Election Commission Office is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  Deadline for returning petitions will be April 1, 2010 at 12:00 p.m.